Medical technology can increase the humans life expectancy. Is it blessing or curse?

The importance of the use of medical technology which was always debatable has now become an unprecedented controversy. The substantial influence of the medical technology has sparked controversy over the potential impact of this trend of increasing life expectancy due to the use of modern technology in recent years. Some people claim that men and women are living a healthy life because of it while others believe that due to the long longevity there is an extra burden on society. The following essay will delineate the positive and negative impact of the medical technology on the lifespan of people before deducing a logical conclusion.

At the very outset, there are numerous arguments in support of the usage of medical technology, but the most preponderant is that nowadays more men and women enjoy great health. To illustrate this point, various fatal diseases such as diabetes and asthma are now curable due to the advancement of medical technology and people are now living a healthy life. Moreover, deaths are concentrated in older age groups. Thus, medical technology plays a vital role in the increase in the average life of individuals.

On the other hand, the opponents of view stated above may defend that, improvement in public health and medical care facilities, countries are facing ageing population which consequently put an extra burden on the society. Although it is partially true that the long longevity is becoming a burden for the whole society but, it is almost impossible to say that senior citizens are not much beneficial for us.

Eventually, according to what has been discussed above, I strongly concede that despite some drawbacks, the benefits of the evolution of the medical technology which responsible for improved human's life cannot be ignored.