In most of the education systems, students are assessed by written examinations. Do you think it is a good idea or not?

Today, with development of psychology and human science, the matter of proper educational assessment has been drawn eyes on it. Some said assessing through examination is the only choice we have right now. On the other hand, scientists, especially psychologists, said this method of assessing is destructive. This essay will discuss how assessing pupils by examining through writing or formal examination can highly have a negative effect on student’s mind.

The phenomena of assessing students’ ability can be found in the realm of psychology, where scientists recently discovered that negative effect of having stress for examination could have a tremendous effect on right hemisphere of one’s brain. Consider a student who has been studied hard through a semester and at the very end of his term, he/she will face with a harsh situation like losing a close relative. The conventional education system have no option for such situation, he/she should take his /her exam, and this way of assessing can have a negative imprint on his/her mind. Actually, people should believe that this way of assessing belongs to years ago that discoveries about human science was at its beginning.

Nonetheless, Teacher and pragmatists firmly believe that grading students by their exams is the only suitable way for assessing them fairly. In this notion, they believe that this kind of assessing is the only proper way to make them ready for every unfair situation. They think, for example, team working can help them to make instant decision in not-predicted situation but this kind of upbringing is just see one aspect of one’s ability and the other abilities may not clearly be distinct. Yet, they don’t know that these day the only thing that matters is team working, making proper decision and making student ready to be a great leader, creative dreamer, or successful manager.

As far as people can remember, has there been always reciprocal challenge between psychologists and traditional decision makers on an optimum method to assess students. I, as a former student, strongly believe that assessing students with this current method can be clearly harmful for students’ brain and will stop them for being creative.