Nowadays children prefer electronic games to other games and toys? Why is it happening? Is it a positive or negative development?

The importance of traditional games and toys is declining among children these days. Electronic games have completely dominated the leisure time of children. Considering the positives and negatives of electronic games, I would not term it as a negative development, but it is not totally positive either. This essay discusses both views.

With time, it is natural to have many things that become part of our life. Electronic games, video games, are not in isolation. In fact, their popularity has been gaining since the beginning of the 21st century. There are many good reasons for its popularity. Firstly, it offers a range of games that offers both joys and edification. It is believed that some video games play an integral part in enhancing the cognitive skills of children. Secondly, there is a convenience factor that cannot be disregarded. On the other hand, playing some traditional games requires a large playground with suitable weather. All children are unable to access such a basis combinations of outdoor games. In this case, electronic games give an opportunity to play at home. Lastly, electronic games have been designed for all ages with interactive options.

On the contrary, there are certain negatives to electronic games. They are expensive, and all parents may not able to afford them. More importantly, these games lack the fitness features of children. Thus, there is a chance that children may become obese.

In conclusion, there is a clear ethical dilemma to which game to support. Electronic games help children improve their aptitude and intelligence level while traditional games endow with fitness. Both qualities are imperative for children, and hence I believe that we should bring create awareness among children about the significance of all types of games.