"People should pursue meaning, not happiness".

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with this statement.

Happiness is the final destination of life.Some people argue that people should pursue the meaning in life because it is paramount than happiness while others believe that people should look for happiness in their life. This essay will discuss why pursuing happiness should be the primary quest in life, not meaning.

Most of us want to be happy in our lives. We all want to be content, live in ease, and that comes from pursuing happiness in life. For instance, after a stress and strain of daily living, people want to live happily at the weekend with their family rather than looking out for meaning. Thus, we all want to be happy, and we seek ways to ensure that we achieve a happy state not a meaningful state.

Happiness is the end, not a means, so we all want to be happy in our lives as God has gifted us with only one life. Although what makes people happy varies from one person to the next and everybody want to live happily. Somebody, for example, feel happy just by helping a needy person through money, food or any physical help. So happiness actually give peace and satisfaction to an individual even by small kind deed.

This essay discussed the reasons why people pursue happiness to get a level of satisfaction and peace which one can't achieve through pursuing meaning in life. In my opinion, I totally agree that people should pursue happiness rather than meaning.