In recent years, obesity rates around the world have increased dramatically. Do you agree with the idea that parents who let their children become obese should be criminally charged and punished?

Rapid increase in the rate of obesity in last few years has created debate among people, some people believe that parents should be held responsible for their obese children and therefore, should be punished and criminally charged where as some people think otherwise. This essay will discuss why parents should be criminally charged and punished if their children are obese.

To begin, obesity has become normal in this contemporary society. The main reason for obesity is the intake of high calorie fast food and lack of exercise which could be easily kept in check by the parents if they want. But, rather than living healthy life, modern parents encourage consumption of fast food for their convenience. For example, in America parents incline towards fast food because they do not want to waste their precious time in cooking food. Therefore, in this type of situation if child is obese then responsibility lies on parents and they should be punished and criminally charged as they are fully capable of stopping their child from being obese.

In addition, it is widely known that obesity is responsible for different kind of disease like cardiovascular disease, diabetes, etc. There are many cases around the world where children suffer from these types of diseases just because they are obese. For instance, in Nepal rate diabetes has increased in obese children. And even after knowing the consequences of obesity if parents let their children become obese then they should be punished.

To recapitulate, this essay discussed the reasons why parents should be punished and criminally charged if they let their children become obese. Obesity has dangerous negative effect but can be easily stopped and onus lies on the parents to stop their children from being obese.