In recent years, obesity rates around the world have increased dramatically. Do you agree with the idea that parents who let their children become obese should be criminally charged and punished?

Due to emerging world advancements and technology, people are sometimes cannot keep up with the fast-paced environment. In this light, recently, worldwide obesity problems have tremendously inclined. Some people suggest that parents with obese child should be lawfully condemned because of this situation but I believe, otherwise. To my mind, it has some resembling problems and that would only make the matter worse for the child.

To begin with, high predicaments on health especially on the disease such as obesity is not just a sole reason of overeating. Few individuals happen to experience stress in their surroundings, hence would lead them not to control their eating habits. Consequently, physical, mental and social-well being of a person is greatly affected, in that way could be attested by the cravings he/she feels upon unhealthy foods. To illustrate, stressed people are joyous eating rapidly prepared food such as in Jollibee and McDonalds due to convenience and as being more economical.

Apart from this, parents who are subjected to imprisonment seeing that their committed crime is only because of having a child that is overweight is unjustified. Considering that fathers and mothers are the primary people who are taking care of their children, who would now take the responsibility of rearing them. Besides, they did not intend any of this to happen for the reason that no parent would like their sons/daughters to suffer any illness.

To recapitulate, parents are the guiding light of their born children. They should help hand-in-hand to overcome any stumbling blocks of health issues on their child. The government should provide health related programs to avoid such occurrence of illness among the youth and individuals as a whole.