As a result of advances in medical care, average life expectancy is increasing for men and women. Do you think most people will see this as a positive development? What are the disadvantages of an ageing population for individuals and society? Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

It is irrefutable that longevity of human life span is one of the top priorities of modern medical science. While, some opponents argued that long life with medical assistance is a must to ensure betterment and advancement of human endeavor, adherents of natural selection of life state different views. Considering the increasing wealth of knowledge every individual collects and disseminates to the society, I profoundly inclined to believe that artificial ways to increased life span is of minuscule application to overall well being of human kind with respect to earth's entire ecosystem. This essay will analyze both sides by providing some academic evidences before concluding.

On one hand, there are several obvious reasons why nature has set the life span of each species. Firstly, with every living thing having its own limit of lifetime, there are several challenges it must face to finally complete that life span and die naturally. During any such challenge, many times, the living being would not live anymore and succumb to the injuries. This is called way of natural selection. For example, human die of some disease early in their life if there if they are cured by their own body or by medical assistance.

Secondly, the main purpose of medical science should not be to alter the path of nature; instead it should be that of a supportive instrument and tool to allow follow that path in better health. For example, promotion of healthy lifestyle has long term benefits than the artificial supplements on every human.

On the other hand, according to opponents of natural selection scheme, there are many disadvantages associated with it. Primarily, the time invested in every human is considered too precious to be lost to some virus or epidemic. However, the lives that still alive are destined to be more successful than the one referred earlier.

To recapitulate, I pen down by saying that, while some people tend to argue that advancement in medical science to support long life is extremely valuable, I highly believe that natural selection procedure is the only provider of high quality human life, as a whole.