Should government build more roads to allow more vehicle owner or improve the network of public transport?

In today’s world, one of the most increasing problems is increasing numbers of vehicles on roads. Some people believe that government should build more roads to accommodate more vehicles. While others argue that government should improve the public transportation’s network. I am inclined to believe that government should improve the network of public transportation. This essay will discuss both side in details and thus lead to a plausible conclusion.

To commence with, the first and foremost, government should concentrate on improving the public transportation’s network, provide better connectivity among city and make it affordable for all class of people. Government should encourage people to opt it for daily commute which will reduce the number of vehicles on road means less traffic and less pollution. For example, according to news, Delhi metro helped government to control the traffic related issue and it also reduced up to 10 percent in the capital city. Therefore, improved public transportation is provide space to breath both people and environment.

On the flip side, more private vehicles on road required more roads to have sufficient space for the vehicles. More vehicles on road can lead to have more chances of road accidents, more traffic and more pollution. For instance, in Sydney the numbers of vehicle increased from 20% to 60 % and road accident rates also increased in last decade. So, the numbers of roads increased drastically.

In conclusion, the forgoing discussion propound the view that improved network of public transportation is more essential than the more road construction as it saves our environment and planet. So, I believe government should improve the network of public transportation and encourage people to use public transportation.