Should govt focus on public transport or building roads?

One of the most conspicuous trends of today’s world is that the government should build more roads than enhancing the level of public transport. While many people believe that building more roads can prove to be good, others think the public transport must be improved first. In this essay, I will discuss the different opinions of people on this topic.

To begin with, roads play a significant role in any country’s growth as they are basic building blocks of connectivity with any place in the country. Good roads always add in a country’s growth in all way. For instance, goods are transported from one city to another by roads and if the roads are in bad condition then it will take the huge amount of time to reach the destination. In India, the government has taken a lot of steps to provide better roads to commuters which also includes strict timelines.

On the other hand, improvement of public transport cannot be neglected also as it is directly concerned with some burning issues of these days like pollution. For example, if public transport of a country is well-versed then people will be using it more rather than using their own vehicle which will curb pollution. In addition to this, using public transport will also solve the problem of congestion that is again a vital issue. The government should also make some plans for the betterment of public transport that will eventually solve many problems.

To recapitulate, public transport and roads both play a vital role in the country’s growth. So, in my opinion, the government must take necessary steps to improve the public transport and roads as well.