Should voting be compulsory for all citizens or people should have freedom to choose not to vote. What is your opinion?
The importance of voting as a compulsory issue, which was always debatable, has
now become more controversial. The substantial influence of mandatory voting has
sparked the controversy over the potential impact of this trend on some nations in
which voting is compulsory in recent years. it can be agreed that compulsory voting
has some positive impacts, but some people claim that it has some negative impacts
as well. this essay will elaborate how voting is relevant and people avoid penalties by
voting and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.
At the outset, there are numerous reasons why voting should be compulsory, but the
most conspicuous one stems from the fact that voting is a civic responsibility,
therefore, people who participate in elections are more concern about the candidates.
For instance, in Australia voting is compulsory and this has created a 90% of
participation during the last prime minister elections. mandatory voting, therefore, can
play a vital role to educate people in politics.
Nevertheless, some people adopt an opposing view and tend to believe that people
can vote in a meaningless way, no reflecting the true voice of the majority. As an
illustration, often people under this system vote without having any knowledge of the
candidates, they do it because is an obligation and to avoid penalties. Meaningless
voting, hence, can play a vital role to avoid fines.
From what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that the impact of
compulsory voting is prominent, although it has some drawbacks that should be well
handled.