Some people argue that young people should concentrate on study or work, some people think it is better to put

energy in activities designed to broaden their experience, such as international travel and volunteering. Support with

examples or cases.

Nowadays, whether young people should concentrate on study or work has attracted numerous controversies and drawn the attention from the public and people believe that designed activities are highly beneficial, while others hold the view that professionalism and study are what youngsters should be focused on. In my opinion, I believe education and career are more important due to they set a firm foundation for future and youngsters won’t fall behind in life.

Firstly, it is extremely competitive in the real world, most companies would prefer not to hire the inexperienced. Focusing on a career after graduating from high school or university grants youngsters to broaden their professional knowledge and gain legitimate work related experiences. This will certainly shape young people and gradually they will become more confident in their profession.

Secondly, if young people put in excessive attention on experience broadening exercises, they will fall behind if compared to their peers. It is also possible that students could fail in subjects which could result in delays from graduation. For instance, I was too focused on travelling when I was studying in university and the consequence was that I failed a course unit which resulted in a year’s delay in completion of the course.

In conclusion, I hold the view that youngsters should pay undivided attention on education or professionalism because they can gain valuable career experiences and they will keep the youngsters on the right track.