Some people think past history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying
the past history can help us better understand the present. Please discuss the two views
and give your own opinion.
History refers to all the things that happened in the past, especially the political, social, or
economic development of a nation. Literally, everything, including a nation, a city, a town, a
subject, a business, and even a product, has its unique history. Some individuals are of the
opinion that studying past history is useless today but others believe it is very essential to
know history to better understand the present. I intend to discuss both sides of the argument
in this essay.
Undoubtedly, the present is the continuation of the past. Therefore, studying the past history
can enable us to better understand what is going on around us. For example, if we are
equipped with relevant knowledge of history, it will be easier for us to understand the
evolution of mankind. It would also tell us how we progressed and reached where we are
today. We would also know how technology developed step by step. History can serve us as
a guide because of which we do not repeat the mistakes of yesteryears. We also get
inspiration from the great men of the past through history.
Those opposed to the study of history argue that the past was very different from the present
and we cannot apply that knowledge to the present. For example, they say that the French
Revolution and the freedom struggle of India have no need to be learnt because those
situations will never arise again. What they forget is that this knowledge makes us realize the
importance of liberty and self governance.
Opponents of the study of history also claim that history has nothing to do with professionals
such as architects and accountants. I believe they would be better in their professions if they
know something about the history of architecture or that of accountancy. As a matter of fact,
you are supposed to demonstrate some evidence of historical ability if you want to pursue
almost any career.
To sum up, studying the past history can not only deepen and widen our knowledge but also
help us develop the power of analysis. Thus, we are able to look at what is happening at
present from a historical perspective and better understanding.