Some say that music is as important as other subjects in school, especially at the preschool level. Do you agree or disagree?

The importance of music as a subject in mainstream education, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of teaching music theory and practice to children as young as preschoolers has sparked the controversy over the potential effect of this trend on other departments, such as the traditional Mathematics and English faculties. It can be agreed that music has a great impact, but it has some drawbacks. This essay will elaborate how music is just as important as other subjects in school and how permission to be creative in school is essential for student engagement, and thus it will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why music should be taught at all levels in the education system, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that is is a creative outlet that teaches children they have intrinsic worth, regardless of their academic performance, which in turn leads to more confident, capable, and engaged students in all areas of their academic education. As an example, studies by Monash University reveal that secondary school students who are struggling with adversity gravitate towards music class as it offers a freedom of expression not available in more formal subjects. Musical expression and creativity, thus, play a vital role in building confidence in young people.

However, it has some drawbacks and some people tend to believe that music is a hobby, not an academic subject, which distracts students from homework and other, more important assessments. As a counter example, studies reveal that music actually contributes to student engagement in school. Critics of music in school, hence, are most likely traditionalists.

In conclusion, the positive effect of music in all levels of education is prominent, however, it has some drawbacks that should not be overlooked.