Studying at a good overseas university is better than studying

at a university in your own country.

Choose whether you agree or disagree with this statement and

discuss why you chose that position. Support your point of view

with details from your own experiences, observations or

reading.

Studying at university is an option for many people, but the question is where. Sometimes studying at an overseas university seems a better option than taking the same course at a home university. This essay will argue that while studying overseas may be problematic, it is the best option for many.

Experiencing an overseas university requires the ability to survive a new culture and language. By successfully negotiating the challenges of life in a new country a student can mature and grow. For example, gaining a qualification also requires the ability to develop social skills, living skills and sometimes supporting ourselves by working. These challenges all benefit the student who studies overseas.

Studying at home can be less expensive than studying overseas while receiving the same qualification. University fees are generally cheaper at home than for international students. For example, international student fees can sometimes run into the tens of thousands of dollars, whereas a similar university course in a hometown can be significantly less expensive. The cost of education and living expenses is a big consideration when deciding which university is best.

This essay has argued that an overseas university can provide life changing experiences but can also be a very expensive way to be educated. In my opinion, the long-term benefits of studying at an overseas university outweigh the financial outlay.