Television serves many functions. Watching TV makes us relax. We can learn knowledge and information from TV programs. Besides, TV can also be seen as a companion.

To what extent do you agree with this?

Nowadays television has become a very popular way to spend time and relax. For many people it has also become a companion which can even substitute real live communications. This essay will prove that TV can fulfill many functions and affect variety of areas in our life.

Firstly, television is one of the most popular ways to relax. People tend to face different problems in their day-to-day life. On another hand it's very important to get appropriate rest to recover after a hard work. Unfortunately, not everybody has enough spare time and energy at the end of a day to do some exciting activities like sports, walks, etc. That is where TV comes to help. Watching a few episodes of a TV show helps to distract attention and forget about stressful situations of the passed day.

Another point is that TV gives people a possibility to travel all around the world without a necessity to even leave their apartments. For instance, news channels not only provide a digest of the day news from the entire globe they also allow individuals to actually see foreign cities and countries. Even a short video fragment from let us say New York offers a look at the buildings, squares and parks that a fellow would probably have never seen. On another hand such traveling can be the only possible option for some categories of people who can't leave their homes due to various health issues.

In conclusion, although television has become one of the most common recreation activities for people all around the world, I believe, for others a possibility to watch news and TV shows is the only available source of information about the world around them which is almost vital necessity for any human being.