With the increase of digital media available online, the role of the library has become obsolete. Universities should only procure digital media rather than constantly updating textbooks. Discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this position and give your own point of view.

Over the past few decades, with the extensive use of the Internet, the function of libraries has become a matter of considerable controversy. Despite widely supported opinion that paper books are more convenient, this essay will prove that due to considerations of forests safety and the possibility of reading and learning everywhere, digital materials have more benefits for students.

To begin with, universities were forced to change their way of providing information and study as a whole after pandemic. Generally, they should to digitize all the books in order to giving people the opportunity to have the access to materials from any place of the world. According to the last research among students it was one of the fastest and greatest positive change in studying for the last 4 decades. Not to mention that online libraries significantly decrease the amount of using paper for just updating study books and textbooks annually. For instance, the deforestation problem in Australia has mitigated largely, which measures are about 50% lower than in the same period 3 years ago.

However, for many paper books still play an essential role in the study process. This is especially true for people who are used to being tactile learners. In general, this means that they literally need to touch book and follow lines for better assimilation of the material. Fortunately, those students are in the minority and only need to get particular approach in learning. For example, printing digital materials frequently allows them to mitigate these disadvantage at ease.

In conclusion, the growing role of the digital data has its positive and negative sides, making offline libraries almost useless. Nevertheless, instead of updating paper materials constantly, universities provide wide range of books online, saving the vast tree quantity.