Television serves many functions. Watching TV makes us relax. We can learn knowledge and information from TV programs. Besides, TV can also be seen as a companion.

To what extent do you agree with this?

Much of what was made for the development and benefit of mankind frequently became harmful later, and television is one of those things. When it comes to the impact of watching TV, people’s opinions are divided about equally. However, despite the widespread belief that television nowadays is the main means of relieving stress, discovering new things and staying up to date, this essay will show that its detrimental effects should not be neglected.

To begin with, the modern television business is not aimed at making people improve their educational level, strive for the best. Generally, the main topics of the blue screen today are sex, power, money and violence. And with the advent of the Internet, TV box is no longer the best way to get knowledge or new information due to its low level and mostly negative impact. Moreover, it was noticed that if you constantly sit at the screen, you lose the habit of thinking on your own, simply accepting the information.

In addition, although television makes us relax, all programs and reality shows can only create the illusion of communication and will never substitute human interaction, let alone be perceived as a companion. TV has become so embedded in people’s lifestyle that its temporary absence can lead to depression and nervous breakdowns. Unfortunately, for many this kind of leisure is not only attractive, but also the only one.

To summarize, television is seen by many as an easy way to get some rest and useful knowledge. Nevertheless, I firmly believe that due to the low level of information and inability to replace real communication, its detrimental effects undoubtedly cancel out all the benefits.