Tobacco, mainly in the form of cigarettes, is one of the most widely-used drugs in the sorld. Over a billion adults legally smoke tobacco every day. The long term health costs are high – for smokers themselves, and for the wider community in terms of health care costs and lost productivity.

Do governments have a legitimate role to legislate to protect citizens from the harmful effects of their decisions to smoke, or are such decisions up to the individual?

Tobacco had been widely used by some people nowadays although there are a lot of reasons to discourage it. While some think that governments should take the responsibilities to stop their citizens from smoking, some people think that it is entirely up to individual's choice. This essay will discuss why governments have a legitimate role to stop citizens to continue smoking.

According to a research, tobacco contain more than 4000 chemical substances which are harmful to human's body. The chemicals that produced from tobacco is not only bad for smoker himself, but also effecting surrounding people including infants and elders. A report stated that out of 100%, 60% of lung cancer patients have a smoker partner. Hence, the tobacco is endangered human's health and life and it should be banned from everywhere.

Apart from that, tobacco is not environmental friendly as well. People tend to leave the remaining of the product such as cigarette butts after they enjoyed the moment. According to an environmental report, 30% of street rubbish is made up of cigarette butt. By legislate the law, people will not be able to create such big amount of rubbish anymore.

It can be concluded that tobacco is not only giving bad effect to human's health, it also creates environmental problem to our mother Earth. In my opinion, I completely agree government should legislate the law to protect citizens from the harmful effects of smoking.