In town and cities, the large shopping mall should replace the small local shop. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Discuss

Replacing the small local shops by large shopping malls in cities has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of large shopping malls has sparked a controversy over the potential impact of this trend on small local shops in recent years. It can be said that shopping malls should replace local shops. However, some people claim that malls should not replace the small shops. This essay will elaborate on how shopping malls save time, and also how it kills the local economy and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why large shopping malls should replace local shops, but the most conspicuous one lies in the fact that large shopping malls save time. Furthermore, they have a variety of stores for one to buy all their daily needs from under one roof. For instance, Westfield in Australia has a wide range of stores for groceries, clothes, shoes, etc. Large shopping malls, therefore, can play a vital role in replacing small shops.

Nevertheless, there remain some drawbacks, which can undoubtedly overwhelm the potential impact of large malls replacing small local shops, but the most alarming one stems from the fact that it kills the local economy. Furthermore, large shopping malls take away the bread out of the mouths of many small shop owners. As an illustration, not many people living in urban areas tend to shop at the local shops nowadays due to the growing mall culture. Therefore, it can play a vital role in large shopping malls, killing the local economy.

To conclude, from what has been discussed above, the impact of large shopping malls replacing local shops is prominent, although the way it kills the local economy should be handled well.