Urban sprawl is an increasing issue around the world. One way in which to solve this issue is to construct cities vertically rather than horizontally.

Human population is increasing and so is the demand for bigger cities. It is crucial to decide the size, speed and direction of expanding our cities that would better address the growing need of more cities. This essay will discuss and cite examples from various researches before concluding.

On one hand, humans need various types of space and utilities to help them live comfortably. The cities built horizontally may exhaust the precious land amount more quickly than vertically. Vast airspace is available on earth. To utilize this vertical space without giving up on more costly horizontal space, is of utmost importance. For example, New York city has one of the world's largest number of skyscrappers. This helps the city resources to be utilized better anf more effectively.

On the other hand, humans are less comfortable living in high rise buildings, is considered by some people who argue that cities should be only built horizontally. The are wrong because there are many examples thatconfirm that living at heights is only feared by some for small period of time. Later it is as good as living on land.

It can be, therefore, concluded that despite some people's argument that horizontal growth of cities is better than vertical growth, it is the vertical expansion of cities that truely helps the essential functioning of a city.