What are your views on the tipping system in countries like the USA? Is it necessary to tip the staff?

Service industry all over the world is booming. The talk about service industry always creates debate among the people; some believe that staff should be tipped for their good work whereas some people are of the opinion that tipping is bad. This essay will discuss why tipping system is bad and should be stopped.

To begin with, tipping system is gaining its popularity all over the world, especially in USA but tipping system is a bad for the business as a whole. Staffs are being paid to perform the service they are performing so, tipping them on the top of their wages or salary would only increase their expectation and if those expectation is not met by the customer then staff might provide bad quality service. For example, recently in USA a waitress got in the verbal confrontation just because the customer tipped her 20 dollar. This type of behaviour would highly damage the goodwill of the company.

Apart from this, tipping system is also bad for the customer. Some customers are not economically well established and they cannot afford to tip around 50% of their bill. For instance, a meal in a good restaurant could cost around 500 dollar, therefore tipping 250 dollar to staff for the job they are hired to is outrages. In addition, they should not be made liable to pay tip; they should be allowed to decide to tip or not and how much to tip.

To recapitulate, this essay explained why tipping system is unacceptable. Even though it is a customer’s free will to tip or not and how much to tip, some service oriented company has made tipping compulsory.