1.Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough,

The authors claims that the decline in deer populations is the result of these deer not being able to follow their migration patterns across the frozen sea. The author's conclusion is based on the premises that these deer live on islands in Canada's arctic region, they go from island to island by moving over ice to find food, and he assumes that this decline is due to global warming that is melting sea ice. There are many flaws in the evidence given by the author as he gave no substantial evidence to support his claims.

First of all, global warming may not be the reason why the numbers of the arctic deer are declining. The scarcity of food can also occur from some successive very cold winters that make it impossible for food to grow on the islands' soil. During these winters, the deer can cross the ice over the ocean as much as they want to go to other islands, but they will ultimately not find food on all of the islands, and thus their numbers may decline because of starvation. Also, even though global warming may cause sea ice to melt, it will create a favorable environment on the islands for the food to grow, and thus food will be available for longer periods than before, providing the deer with the food they need without having to immigrate.

Second, the decline in deer populations may be cause by excessive hunting. Hunters usually tend to hunt some species excessively because of some of their features that they can resell at high price after. And when a large number of hunters starts to compete, it can only have negative consequences on the species they are hunting. We have many examples from across history that supports this, as many historical animal species have come to extinction just after we humans put foot on their natural habitats and started exploiting it intensely.

Not to forget that for the global warming assumption to be true, the author should have gave some extensive data and evidence of its effect on the deer populations, the food abundance, and the sea ice levels in these regions, and show how the data relate to the conclusion. This would have strengthened his argument and gave it more credibility, making it harder for us readers to deny and try to debunk it.

All in all, the author made the conclusion that the decline in deer population is caused by the latters not being able to follow their immigration routes by travelling over the frozen sea ice. He assumed that because this decline coincides with the global warming trend that our planet is currently living, it should be the cause of this numbers decline, without providing any data or evidence to support his claims. His text would have been more convincing if it had some of them to convince us.