"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

The manager claims that they should allocate more time to weather and local news as they did before in order to attract more viewers to the late-night news program and avoid losing more advertising contracts. His conclusion is based on the premises that the journal increased its devoted time to national news, while lowering the alloted time to local news and weather, and that the majority of the complaints that the viewers send concern weather' and local news' coverage. In addition to the fact that they have just lost advertising contracts with local businesses. There are many flaws in the evidence given by the author as he gave no substantial evidence to support his claims.

First of all, the increase in the devoted time to national news while lowering the time devoted to weather and local news may not be the reason why the program is loosing viewers and, in consequence, advertising contracts. He didn't consider the fact that national news over the past year may have been of more importance than local news that may have been boring to cover , as the USA were preparing for their 2018 midterm elections, which is an important event that happens every four years. And by covering local news and weather more frequently, their elections' coverage may have suffered from it, resulting in fewer views as more people would look for other channels that will provide them with a better coverage.

Second, even though the complaints received from the viewers concern local news and weather coverage, we are not sure whether these complaints mean that less people are watching the program. The manager should have given some statistical data which would have provided us with some in depths numbers. And by not doing so, we are not sure that the complaints had a real impact on the program viewers' numbers.

Furthermore, this may not be the reason why local businesses canceled their advertising contracts with them. This may have been because this businesses don't need the advertising anymore as they have have enough loyal customers or because they brand is well known locally now. Or the advertising prices may have risen up, or the advertising didn't help the businesses reach their financial goals, resulting in them concelling the contracts. Surveying this businesses may have given the manager the real cause of why the businesses are cancelling their advertising contracts.

All in all, the manager made the conclusion that restoring the alloted time to weather and local news to its former level would prevent them from loosing advertising revenues and help them to attract more viewers. But he based his conclusion on premises and assumption that were not accompanied with data and evidence supporting, and therefore weakening his arguments.