All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

The issue considers whether companies should hire outside experts to help them work more efficiently, or whether they should listen to their own people because it is just a wast of ressources. I strongly disagree with the issue because outside consultants can be helpful in more than one way.

First of all, hiring these consultants help the companies think outside of the box. Only listening to their own employees will make the nature of the proposed solutions always the same, and thus, they will stay stuck if they couldn't solve it from the beginning. Hiring these people will provide the company with new points of view to those that they are already accustomed to, which will at the end help the company solve its efficiency problems and become more efficient.

Second, these consultants wouldn't be hired this much if they didn't prove themselves. While the company's employees spend the majority of their time executing the tasks given to them, the experts spend theirs working with different companies on solving their problems and making them more efficient. Some of them may even have some predefined "new" solutions which they spend their free time working on. Therefore, hiring them will not only make the company efficient, but also make it become so as fast as possible.

Finally, because these experts do not work at the ocmpany, they always have an objective point of view. The company's employees tend to have a subjective one when resolving their own efficiency problems because they are themselves inputs of these problems. And by minimizing their supposed impacts, they may not find the solution if the problem is in them and their way of doing things. That's why having a third eye from an outsider can always be helpful.

All in all, we've seen how companies hiring outside consultants to solve their efficiency problems are doing the right thing. These consultants present the company with a new way of thinking, are usually hired because they have already proven themseleves with other companies, and are objective in their way of dealing with the problems.