A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The statement says that all of a nation's students must follow the same national curriculum until they enter college. I firmly disagree with this statement as i strongly believe that even though it would give the students the same chances and education accross the country, not everyone has the same abilities, and it won't allow students to study subjects that they love.

Some people may say that the statement is true, arguing that by doing so, all the students will have received the same education as they will enter college, and thus they will have the same chances of succeeding in the latter. This argument has some truth in it, but even though it gives the same chances to all the students, it stuffs them with some knowledge that they won't really need after they leave highschool. For example, we have all studied maths during our curriculum from elementary school to high school, but those of us who chose to pursue an Arts or Literature degree won't need the maths after highschool.

However, not all people are made equal. This means that not everyone has the same capacities, and therefore, while some succeed in the unified curriciulum, a lot of forgotten others don't, and by doing so, they are considered as lacking the competence and skills to succeed in college, and thus society. But if we instead chose to teach them or let them choose subjects that are relevant to their skills levels, this would motivate them and they can even improve after. As a popular idiom says: "You can't judge a fish by its ability to climb trees".

Last but not least, unifying the curriculum doesn't let people study subject that they truly like. This will result in some people getting bored and not enjoying what they are studying, and in some cases, not achieving their full potential and not attaining their full potential. This is reflected in the educational systems' ranking accross the world, where the ones that get the best rankings are the systems that gives some freedom to their students in choosing the subjects they like the most. An example to this is Finland which ranks in the top places of all the rankings, and where students are fully satisfied of their systems because it lets them choose the subjects they want to study, and their curriculum contains, in addition to the traditionally taught subjects, some subjects that are meants to help the students deal with life as they grow.

All in all, we have seen how requiring a country's students to follow the same curriculum nationwide is not the right idea, as even though it may give the same chances to all the students in that country, not every student has the same capacity, and by doing so, we refrain the students from choosing and studying subjects that they truly love. That is why i disagree with the recommendation.