People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and suppo

The statement says that people usually do not have any control on their behavior as there are some external forces governing them. I strongly disagree with this statement as i firmly believe that free will governs most of people's behavior, and that sometimes, people are aware of their bad habits but are reluctant to change them because they are anchored deeply in them.

Some people may say that the statement is true, arguing that the environment of a person may influence how they behave. Environment do in fact influence a person's behavior sometimes, but it doesn't apply to all the people in that environment. For example people say that a someone born in a bad neighbourhood will grow to become a thief or a bad person, but this doesn't hold true for everyone as there are a countless number of people from these bad neighbourhood that have grown to become some of the best citizens their country could have.

Free will, on the other hand, is the factor that truly controls a person's behavior. We all behave differently, and in the majority of the cases, our behavior is the result of our own thinking and decisions. We rarely do something that we don't want to do, and if we do so, we do it knowing all the reasons that made us do so. Just try to tell someone that there is a force governing their actions and see how they will react: some may even laugh at you. Even the people who agree with the statement believe, deep inside them, that their free will is responsible of their own action.

Furthermore, sometimes people know that they have a bad habit, but are reluctant to change it. This reluctance may come from the fact that these habits are deeply anchored in these people that people just abandon fighting these habits and let them be a part of their lives while being fully aware of them. An example to this is a smoker who knows all the dangers of smoking, but who still smokes because he has gone too far and going back will be too difficult for him.

All in All, we have seen how the statement that there are external forces governing people's behavior does not hold true. Even though the environment may in some cases shape someone's behavior, free will and people's reluctance to abandon a bad habit are the major elements that are controlling our behavior. That why i disagree with the statement.