"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twic

The author claims that of the two leading real estate firms in his town, Adams Realty is better than Fitch Realty, and thus suggest that you should use Adams Realty services if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price. The author's conclusion is based on the premises that Adams has more real estate agents, that their revenue is double that of Fitch, and that Adams sold one of his properties last year in a period of time shorter than the one managed by Fitch when they sold his home ten year ago. There are many flaws in the evidence given by the author as he gave no substantial evidence to support his claims.

First of all, when the author said that one of the reasons why Adams is superior is because they have more real estate agents, he could be thinking that having more salesmen means more chance to sell a property. In assuming this he didn't take into account that the numbers could mislead him because these real estate agents may not be that comptent, and therefore they may provide you with a not that good deal. Also, even though small businesses tend to have a smaller work force, they usually tend to be family owned, and we all know that family owned businesses usually work with passion and may outperform a big firm if given the same ressources for a given task.

Second, in comparing their revenue, the author assumed that a bigger revenue means that Adams Realty is performing better. But he didn't into account the nature of properties that the two firms are selling. Adams may be selling houses that are located in the center of the city, and these properties tend to be very expensive as everyone wants to live there and the demand outweighs the offering. Not to forget that Adams has a larger work force, and that if we scale it to that of Fitch, they may actually have the same numbers or Fitch may even have better sales numbers, and thus be considered the better firm following the author's logic.

Finally, the authors suggests that homes sell faster with Adams based on his personal experience. Adams managed to sell his house in just one month last year, while Fitch took four months to sell home ten years ago. But he didn't take into account the fact that ten years ago, the world was living a crisis caused but the burst of the real estate bubble, and the demand for real estate was at an all time low. This means that even Adams would have struggled to sell his home back then, and that it could have taken them even more time than Fitch.

To conclude, the author made the conclusion that selling your home using Adams Realty services would be the best option as you will sell it quickly and at a good price. But he based his conclusion on premises and assumptions that were mainly based on number that don't reflect the reality and on his personal experience, making his analysis very subjective. His text would have been more convincing if it was based on objective arguments.