People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There are many questions surrounding a person’s behavior. What determines a person’s behavior? Is it the genes they’re born with? The environment in which they live? These are all questions in which need to be answered before one can state what truly defines people and determines their behavior. The statement that people’s behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making is one that I both agree and disagree with. I do believe that there are many external forces that encourage us and persuade us to behave in a certain way. However, on the other hand, I deem there are internal beliefs and understandings that persuade our behavior as well.

When a person is born into a culture with a set of norms and unspoken rules, it is typical that they will adopt the norms of the culture because they are the rules their family believes and has been instilled in them since birth. One can see the exponential influence that external forces have a on behavior when comparing different cultures to each other. The influence of external forces is portrayed during meal times in different cultures. For example, comparing the utensils used at meal time in China versus the utensils used at meal time in America. In China, people typically eat using chopsticks; however, in America, it is typical that people eat with a fork. By comparing these two countries, one can see the large influence that external forces have on behavior.

Another topic that supports the argument that people’s behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making are the internal behaviors that we cannot change. Age and gender are internal behaviors that create a large portion of who we are as individuals and influence our behavior daily. When a person behaves in an immature way that is not appropriate for their age, they are often told to “act your age” by their peers or elders. By being a certain age or gender, there are roles that people are expected to full and act in a certain way. Both age and gender are internal influences that affect our behavior.

In contrast to the topic that our behavior is determined by forces we cannot change, there are external influences in our lives that affect behavior that we can dispose of and not conform the behavior of people surrounding us. For example, if a teenager is socializing with their peers and they are not comfortable with the activities their peers are engaging in, they can choose to leave and not participate in such activities. While this is not common, it is a way we have control over our surroundings and our behavior.

In conclusions, the statement that people’s behavior is largely determined by forces not in their own making is one that I both agree and disagree with. I agree with it because one typically adapts to the culture and gender they are born into. I disagree with it, due to external factors we can change, for instance, the people we surround ourselves with. However, there are questions that need to be investigated and answered before this statement is determined to be true.