The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

For a local television station to make the argument that they need to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level to attract more viewers of to the program, they need supporting data before this claim can be made. While it appears that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news will increase the number of viewers, one must do more research to determine the underlying factor of the loss of views.

First, the author readily assumes that the loss of viewers is due to the television station not covering local news and weather. While it is important for the station to cover local news and weather, many of its viewers want to be informed of national news as well. The author needs to compare their data to other television companies to determine the underlying cause of the loss of viewers.

Second, the author must look at other research data sources to determine if the loss of viewers is actually due to the station not playing local news and weather, or if it is due to other issues that are not in their control, such as people checking the news and weather on their smart phones. In this generation, people gain can knowledge about anything through their fingertips on their smartphones. The author must compare data with other television companies to determine if they're losing views due to not covering what their viewers want to watch or if it is due to smartphone use. By looking at this data, it will allow to author to know if the loss of viewers is due to smartphone use.

Finally, it is a stretch for the company to assume that their advertising cancelations are because of the loss of local viewers. It is critical for the author to investigate where the local businesses are now advertising. For example, the local businesses might be advertising on social media now instead of on the news channels. The author must take the generation they are catering to into consideration before claim that their loss of viewers is because of what the station is playing.

In conclusion, the argument that a televsion station must restore the time they once devoted to weather and local news to its former level to attract more viewers might be suitable from the surface. However, the author needs to determine if the loss of viewers is due to what they are playing or if there are changes in the generation they are catering to before they can make this claim. To strenghten this argument, the author needs to take the facts stated above into consideration.