To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Some believe understanding the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities. However, for one to understand a society, they must investigate further than its major cities, because cities do not account for a whole society. While, there is a plethora of rich information about a society in its cities, if one were to only study the major cities, their research would be flawed because it would fail to include demographic differences in housing outside of the cities, rural communities, and diet differences.

First, by only conducting research in the cities, it would fail to include differences in housing outside of the cities. By expanding the research to places outside of the city, one can find a wide variety in housing and see how people live in their natural habits. In cities, it is common that people live in smaller housing; such as, apartments or town houses with very little land. By expanding the research outside of the city, one will find people living in larger houses with more land.

Furthermore, by conducting research outside of the city, one would find rural areas which would show the researcher how people live with more land and animals. The characteristics of a society is very different from the city to rural areas. In the city, people lock their houses and have a fear of being robbed or hurt by other people; however, in the rural communities, people are not typically scared of other humans and their fears are based on the dangerous wildlife that they share a home with. By taking rural areas into consideration, it would affect the data collected, because one could see a difference in lifestyle by what people's fears are.

Finally, looking outside of the city, one can find differences in diets. In the city, people go to the grocery store or often buy food at a restaurant. However, in places outside of the city, people commonly cook their own meals, have gardens, and hunt. For example, one can see a difference in diet because people in rural areas typically hunt deer and eat venison, which is a meat that people rarely eat.

In Conclusion, there are reasons to support the claim that studying major cities will show you the most important characteristics of a society, however the argument is flawed because it fails to take demographic differences in housing, rural communities, and different diets into consideration. While the argument appears to be strong, it does not outweigh the facts that it neglects the differences stated above.