Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The theory that teacher’s salaries should be based on their students’ academic performance might appear to be beneficial on the outside; however, looking deeper into this argument, one will find that it is opaque and the argument is flawed. To make this claim, the author must have supporting evidence for the following issues.

First, there are many factors that effect a student’s performance that are out of a teacher’s control. For example, if a student comes from a low socioeconomic class, it is likely that they will have a difficult home life and their parents will not be involved in their academic performance. Family environment and parent involvement are a huge factors that affect a student’s performance. If a teacher has a class of students with parents that are not involved in their academic achievements, the academic performance of this class will more than likely be low.

Furthermore, it would not be fair for a teacher that got placed with a general education class to have a smaller salary than a teacher who received a high academic or honors class, because this is a decision that is made by the school board and not the teacher. The students in the general education class, will not perform as well as student in an honors class, which can be seen in the discrepancies between the class’ test scores. The honors students are well prepared for standardized tests due to their rigorous course load they have studied for a year. While, in the general education class, the course load is lighter and at a slower pace so the students can grasp the material being taught. Typically, students in the general education class do poorly or fail standardized tests, which requires the teacher to remediate the students. With the remediation process, the teacher will have to put extra time and energy into remediation, which will cause them to spend more hours working. With this being said, it would not make sense for a teacher who works more than another teacher to make less due to their student’s performance.

Finally, if teacher’s salaries were based on their student’s performances, it would not encourage the teachers to teach for education; instead, they would teach on how well their students can perform on a test. A Teacher needs to facilitate fun and engaging learning environments that are specific to their student’s needs. If a teacher was only teaching for money, they would neglect many of the core principles of education and learning.

While the author’s argument appears to be suitable on the outside, it fails to address many key components that need to be made for this argument to be reliable. To make this claim, the author must address the affect a student’s home environment has on their academic performance, the difference between honors and general education classrooms, and the core principles that encompass teaching and education.