A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Some may argue, that a nation should require its students to study and learn a universal curriculum until entering college. In the grand scheme of things, this may appear to be a good idea for unity, collaboration, and a set understanding for post-secondary education. However, this argument fails to consider many key factors that allow students to flourish in their personal learning habits.

First, having a national curriculum does not encourage teachers to teach to their student’s specific learning habits and needs. This curriculum would have tests and requirements that the teachers must meet by a certain deadline, causing them become strapped to a tight schedule. By being tied to a tight schedule, it does not allow teachers time to slow down to cater to individual student’s needs. As a result of being tied to a set curriculum and schedule, teachers would only teach on what their students are going to be tested on, dismissing the creativity and uniqueness of each student.

As a result of making teachers teach to a set curriculum, it neglects the fact that students gain knowledge and learn new information in a plethora of ways. A set curriculum, does not encourage students to be creative and “think outside of the box”. Instead, it puts students in a “box” and requires them to think alike and answer questions in an identical way to achieve the right answer.

Finally, the argument does not take geographic differences into consideration. Members of a nation share a nationality, but there is a wide range of geographic differences throughout a nation that needs to be considered when creating a curriculum for students. For example, it would not be appropriate for a first grader in Alaska to be tested on characteristics of an armadillo or even know what this type of animal looks like. However, identifying and naming characteristics of this animal would be a reasonable test question for a first grader in Texas.

In conclusion, the argument is not practical without convincing answers to the questions stated above. If these questions go unanswered, one is left with the impression that the argument is simply wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence. The argument could be strengthen if it stated the facts and had evidence to support them. While having a set curriculum could have benefits, the argument fails to address key factors and overlooks the benefit of individual students.