A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

While considering the recommendation that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college might appear to be good idea from a distance, one must consider underlying facts before they can make this claim.

First, if a nation has a set curriculum until college, it fails to cater to all of the students in an entire nation. One must research and investigate national data to determine the number of students who plan to attend college and the number of students who do not plan on attending college. If a nation has a set curriculum, they will fail to prepare a large portion of its students for opprotunties other than college; such as students entering the workforce or the armed forces. For example, if high school student in Texas, has been raised a farmer and is very knowledgable about his family's farm, a set curriculum would not cater to this individual, because college is not in his best interest. If this student studied the set curriculum that prepared him for college, it would fail to make him ready to start his carreer in farming.

Second, this reccomendation fails to take geographic differences into consideration. To make this claim, one must research geographic differences to determine if a set curriculum is possible for standarized testing and appropriate knowledge of students. For example, a first grade student in Alaska should not be required to know specific attributes about an armedillo on a standarized test. However, attributes and characteristcs of this animal would likely to appear on a standarized test for a first grade student in Texas.

Finally, by a nation having a set curriculum, it would not allow teachers to teach to their full potential. By having a set curriculum, it would force teachers to teach specifically to a national standarized test and curriculum. By doing this, it would not allow teachers to fill the specific needs of the students in their classroom. A set curriculum, would put teachers on rigorous schedules, which would not allow a liberal and exciting learning environment.

For the author to make the claim that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college, they must complete more research to have supporting data for the reasons stated above. While the arguement might appear to be benefitial, there are underlying factors that the author must investigate before this claim can be made.