Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The idea that universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying, appears to be a reliable claim from a distance. However, the statement is flawed, due to the author failing to address key components that are required for students to become well-rounded individuals. To make this claim, the author must have supporting evidence for the following issues.

First, by the author readily making this claim, it fails to encourage a student's growth in different settings. While it is important for a student to have a plentiful amount of knowledge in their specific field, by only studying one topic, it would not facilitate a student to learn in a different setting. For example, students in one major share a lot of commonalities and have a lot of similar ideas. By a student taking a general education course, it ensures that they get out of their comfort zone and learn with other students who might have different opinions and backgrounds from their own.

Another key component that universities take pride in is preparing students to be well-rounded individuals. If a student were to only study their major courses, the curriculum would fail make their students well-rounded individual who are knowledgeable in a large variety of topics. While, general education courses feel unimportant to students, by the university requiring student to take courses outside of their major, the university is enforcing that students are well-rounded and have knowledge on topics other than their individual studies.

Finally, it is important for students to study and take courses outside of their field of interest, because it prepares them for when they need to use other material in their studies. For example, a scientist who is conducting research must properly document the evidence they receive, to be able to do this, they need to be competent in English and grammar. If this student does not properly document the evidence found, it could skew the results from the study.

In conclusion, for universities to only require students to take courses only within those fields of study they are interested in, one must compare and contrast the pros and cons to this idea. On the surface, it appears to be valid, but after further investigating the statement, it leaves the reader with questions that need to be answered. For this claim to be valid, the author must have supporting evidence the topics stated above.