"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the preceding argument, the author claims that the shorter amount of sleep the advertising executives have may have an impact on the profit and growth of the company. A study was conducted rating 300 male and female Mentian adverting executives, which showed an association between the amount of sleep and the profit the company receives. At first glance, the argument appears reliable, however it needs more evidence to support its claim.

First, the author neglects having supporting evidence for the claim. For one to state that the amount of sleep the employees have each night is correlated to the success of the firm, the author needs to conduct research on the sleeping habits of the individuals at the firm. For instance, the author should not only look at the amount of sleep the individual gets, but also needs to factor in their age, gender, and how long they have been an executive. By having this data, it will show if the performance at the firm is truly due to the amount of sleep they are getting or if it is due to other factors, such as experience or age.

Furthermore, the argument fails to mention if the employees who reported not needing more than 6 hours of sleep at night are the ones who are excelling and making the success at the firm. For the author to make the claim, they need to demonstrate which employees are succeeding at the firm, without this information, it leaves the reader questioning who is actually bringing in the higher profit margins and facilitates the company's fast growth.

Finally, the recommendation to hire people based on the hours of sleep they get, fails to notice what other attributes they might obtain that facilitate them to excel as a executive, which would benefit the company more than how they operate with a certain number of hours of sleep each night. Although this relationship is revealed by the study, it would be beneficial for the company to hire fast-paced and determined employees, who will complete the work in a more timely manner over those who operate well on few hours of sleep.

In conclusion, the argument that the company should hire people who need less than 6 hours of sleep to foster the business prospering appears to be reliable from a distance. However, when one looks at it more closely, they can see that the argument is flawed and fails to address key factors such as the ones stated above. For the argument to make this claim, there needs to be more research in place that has supporting evidence, it needs to address which employees work well with less sleep and take other factors that they employee has into consideration, and it must notice other attributes that will encourage one to excel as an executive.