"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While, it appears that fewer people are attending superscreen movies, the argument that this is due to the public's lack of awareness of the films is a stretch for the author to claim. On the surface, the argument may appear to be valid; however, one must conduct research to determine if allocating a greater share of its budget to reaching the public through advertising will actually make a difference in attendence at the movie theater. The author readily assumes that advertising is the key factor as to why people are not attending the movies. However, this assumption has no data supporting the claim. If the author conducts research and truly finds that poor advertising is the cause to low number of movie attendence, a reader could believe this argument. After research has been conducted, it is likely the author will find that poeple are not attending movies due online streaming, tight schedules, and not wanting to pay to attend movies.

It is evident that the author fails to take online and streaming options into consideration. While people do enjoy going to movies, this generation is one who can gain access to practically anything on their fingertips. It is common for people to watch Netflix or Hulu on their mobile devices so the author must look at the viewing rates of online streaming before determining that the lack of people attending movies is due to poor advertisement. It is very likely that people know about movies coming into theathers, but they would rather wait until they can watch it at home on their own time.

Second, the author must take the business of the current generation into consideration. While people enjoy going to the theater to watch movies, they simply do not have time to do so. It is common that people watch moviesin their beds before they go to sleep because this is when they have free time to do so. The author must compare the time it takes to go to the movie theater and watch movies versus the time it takes on to watch a movie at home.

Finally, it is critical for the author to compare movie prices to online competitors and television companies. In the previous generation, people would attend movies for a fun activity because people did not have televisions in their home. However, now it is very common for people to have TVs in their home and they pay for cable and streaming companies. If one is paying for entertainment in their home, it is likely that they will not want to pay to go see a movie in the theater because they are already paying for entertainment and movie services.

In conclusion, it the auther readily assumes that movie theater attendance is low to poor advertising, but does not look into other reasons why this is happening. For the author to make this claim, they must adress the topics stated above for the claim to be valid.