"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The claim that the best way for society to prepare its young people for leadership in governmnet, industry, or other fields is by instilling the sense of cooperation in them and not competition appears to be reliable from the surface. However, when one looks deeper into this claim, they will find that it is flawed due to the following reasons.

First, if society were to only instill cooperation into its young people, it would fail to motivate them to be above average reach for the highest goals. If they were simply cooperative, they would settle for what society tells them who they should be. By a society preparing its young people by solely being cooperative and not competitive, it would cause people to conform to the norm and not challenge them to be the best they can possible be. For example, if a young woman was trying to run for a leadership positition at her job, but being cooperative and following the norm had been instilled in her from a young age, without being competitive, she would not take a risk to become a leader at her company.

Furthermore, competition is a key part in what makes us stand out and be set apart. Without competition, we would simply settle for what society tells us and not strive to be the best we can be. It is human nature to want to be better than the people around us. For instance, if one looks at graduate school applications, competition is a characteristic that makes a studnet stand out. The competitive students are the ones who have high GPAs, are involved in research, and are going above and beyond the tasks they need to complete so they have a competitive application. If a students were cooperative and not competitive, the application pool would have similiar students and the baord would not be able to distinguish between the driven hard-workers and the ones who settle into the norm. While, one is reviewing applications, they want someone who is competitive, because it shows that they will work hard in graduate school and their field of study after.

Finally, some may argue that competition is what makes humans passoniate. This is demonstrated over a plethora of different situations. For instance, when one is seeking a relationship with another human being, they do not want to settle for anything. People want what they cannot have and if someone is given what they want, it does not add value to that person. This can also be seen in atheletes. If an athlete was not competitive, they would not the drive to win which is what makes them passoniate about their sport. They want to be the best and win and without competition driving this, people would be cooperative and settle.

In conclusion, from the points stated above, one can see that humans excell and are driven by competition. If one were to be cooperative and not competitive, they would not succeed and become better than average. For the author to make this claim valid, they must have data that supports their claim.