Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people.Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

First, the argument readily assumes that the Palean baskets have only been made in the prehistoric village of Palea. If they have only been created in this prehistoric village, who was creating them? Was there a group of specific people making them? Did they create the distinctive patterns found on the baskets? For the argument to declare that the baskets have only been made by Palean people, the author needs answer questions like these to support their claim.

Not only does the argument fail to address why the baskets were solely made by Palean people, but it fails to acknowledge how the baskets could have potentially been traded across different land regions. The argument has provided evidence of the Brim River being deep and broad, however, it fails to take environmental changes into consideration. Rivers are continually changing due to flooding and droughts. The argument ignores the Brim River could have been narrow and shallow during the prehistoric Palean time. To make the claim that boats could not travel on it due to its depth, one must take the environmental changes into consideration.

Finally, the argument fails to discuss trade routes that occurred with the Palean people. Trade routes bring goods and mix different goods from many cultures all throughout the world. Did a Palean tradesman exchange the basket with a tradesman from another place that would eventually reach Lithos? To make the claim that the basket is not unique to the Palean culture due to its findings in Lithos, the author must expand on the trade routes to support their argument.

In conclusion, the argument has ideas that appear plausible. However, it is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is not convincing. The author could strengthen their argument by supporting the questions asked and clearly mentioning more relevant facts. Without the answers to these facts, the argument remains unclear to the reader.