98. The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books.

"Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large customer base due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all subjects. Last month, Book and Bean, a combination bookstore and coffee shop, announced its intention to open a Collegeville store. Monarch Books should open its own in-store café in the space currently devoted to children's books. Given recent national census data indicating a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, sales of children's books are likely to decline. By replacing its children's books section with a café, Monarch Books can increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean."

The manager of Monarch Books concludes that her store should refurnish the part that is originally used for sales of children’s books to a new café to make her business more profitable and competitive. To validate her argument, she points out the section for children’s books has been fainted away in customers’ interests. However, the manager still doesn’t provide sufficient evidence to indicate it is crucial and beneficial for her business to do so.

In the first place, the manager believes it’s profitable to build an in-store café, since the owner of Book and Bean which is the ...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.