According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions

The argument suggests that an honor code system should be adopted for all colleges to decrease cheating among students for several reasons mentioned in the article, however, there are detailed questioned need to be answered.

The writer claims that Groveton College has successfully reduced pupils’ cheating by using an honor code. It could be true if the background, student composition, and type of colleges are similar. Still, the determinant question, is an honor suitable to the school as well? The author needs to answer detailed information about how it works in Groveton College, it is possible that not only Groveton College students are lazy to report cheating, but also there are actually few tests in a semester and that’s why so few cheating cases reported with an honor code. Although the cheating cases drop in Groveton College, it doesn’t imply we could apply this system to all colleges. Because there could be some college with numerous students who are highly-disciplined and honest, they would like to censor each other with the highest standard and reporting cases increase drastically rather than decrease.

Furthermore, the reporter says that cheating reported by teachers is thirty cases much more than the number reported by students by an honor code. Nevertheless, the question is do students report the results honestly? A probable explanation is that pupils would like to help each other for cheating and gradually don’t report cheating cases, because they are friends in the classroom. Therefore, fewer and fewer cheating cases reported by honor code. The author has to answer the question for this possibility and it is suggested to understand how an honor code works from students under the table.

Additionally, the writer proposes that a survey reflects fewer cheating cases with an honor code than without. Still, is the survey valid and representative? It is possible that the questionnaire is done only with 2 percent of the students of the college and it is barely to represent the major opinion of students of a college. Besides, do students complete a questionnaire honestly? A probable explanation is that they just want to leave a good image to their teachers, so they lie in the survey. Moreover, is the content of the survey biased? Because the college president wants to apply an honor code as Groveton College does, he makes a survey asking whether students want to use honor code reporting cheating cases by students themselves or 1-by-1 teachers’ monitoring when taking an examination, which sways students toward an honor code for less stress. Therefore, it is suggested that use 3rd party questionnaire for cross-checks to validate the effectiveness of the survey.

In conclusion, the author has to answer the questions mentioned above to make the argument more cogent.