According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The argument concludes that all the universities and colleges should espouse the honor code followed by the Groveton college to decrease cheating among students. However, it reveals several instances of poor reasoning and ill-defined terminology. To justify his argument, the author mentioned the decreased number of cheating cases detected under the new system and also mentioned a survey conducted among the students of Groveton. Nonetheless, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little tenable support for the author’s inferences. Hence the argument is incomplete and has many questions unanswered.

The argument mentioned that under the new honour code students are supposed to report the cheating cases to the teachers instead of teachers monitoring the students and concluded that it has helped reduce the cheating cases in Groveton. The author corroborated this statement by mentioning the decreasing number of cheating cases reported under the new system. It might be the case that students fail to report the cheating cases to their teachers and that there is no decrease in the cheating cases among the students. Infact, it might be easier for the students to cheat as there is no teacher monitoring them. The argument failed to understand this aspect and hence to really understand the decrease in cheating cases with the new system in place, a better analysis instead of what is provided in the argument is needed.

Furthermore, the argument mentioned a survey conducted among Graveton’s students in which the majority of the students said that they are less likely to cheat in exams under an honor system in place than without. The students might have not answered the survey honestly. They must have answered in accordance with what is acceptable by society. Hence if the survey shows that there is a chance of biases in it then relying on such a survey to derive conclusions will not be appropriate. The argument failed to consider all that.

Lastly, what worked for Groveton college might not work for other institutes and universities. This is because the students and the rules and regulations for every college will be different. This new honour code will allow students of another college to copy easily. So, it would be unwise to conclude that the new honour system might work for all the colleges.

To sum up what has been stated so far, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, more detailed analysis is required