According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the last year. Clearly, the content of these reviews is not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater quantity of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

The argument makes a case for an increase in the share of the budget allocated for advertising in the Super Screen Movie Production Company. The memo states that fewer people have watched this production company's movies in the past year but the percentage of positive reviews have increased, and based on this fact, argues for a greater share in the budget for advertising. On deeper analysis, this argument is rife with unwarranted assumptions without any data or studies to back them up.

Firstly, the reason why fewer people attended the movies has been assumed to be lack of advertising. It can be due to a host of other reasons. The number of movies produced in the last year has not been specified in comparison with the other years. In fewer movies were produced, the decline in the number of viewers is not surprising. In this case the total viewers reduced even though the average per movie might have stayed the same. Even the percentage of positive reviews can be misleading depending on how it is calculated. A few exceptional movies along with a few flop ones would end up producing the same percentage of positive reviews as the case if all the movies received mixed reviews. But the viewers' reaction would be different in both cases. Thus it would have been helpful to provide such additional statistics to back up the claims in the memo in order to lend it some more credibility.

Further, it concludes that the contents of positive reviews are not reaching enough prospective viewers, and thus the viewership is decreasing. It is plausible that there was an increase in online piracy of movies in the last year, leading to a decrease in the number of movie-goers for all the shows. If movies were readily available free of cost, people would have been tempted to watch them at home rather than in a theatre. Then the problem would not be specific to Super Screen Production Company, and spending more on advertising would not help. Research on the topic of piracy before drawing such a conclusion would have helped the company to filter out its possibility.

Another seemingly logical conclusion is that allocating a greater share of its budget next year will help the production company to retain or increase viewership. This could prove overly optimistic if the quality of movies is not retained. Positive reviews have increased for the current year, but nothing can be said about the upcoming projects without data about its cast, genre and storyline. If the reviews turn out to be negative, excessive advertising could even hurt the company's prospects instead of helping them.

In summary, the production company may decide to increase the portion of its budget assigned to advertising, but this memo does not make a convincing case for the same. It has made assumptions, which, if prove to be unwarranted, would lead to a loss of money for the company.