Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

As the famous saying goes, "Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it". I disagree with the given statement, and believe that it is essential for any aspiring leader to look for lessons in history. That is how the mistakes that led to failure in the past can be avoided. But dwelling too much in the past when the situation demands a fresh narrative can also cause harm.

Given that the prevalent situation is suitable, we can always look back into the lives of the greatest historical leaders for inspiration. Their insight will help anyone who holds a position of leadership even in the present. For example, 50 years from now, the leadership of a tech company could look back at Nokia. They would be able to analyze what caused the company that held the largest market-share, to nearly collapse. Lessons such as not adapting to changing user requirements, avoiding upcoming trends could be learnt from this case study. The executives would then be able to avoid falling into the same traps.

At the same time, looking only at the past, and not thinking ahead can slump innovative ideas. Any visionary leader must be willing to take unprecedented measures to ensure the betterment of the institution, be it a country or a commercial organization. Not just understanding, but correcting what went wrong in the past is what is paramount. For example, politicians regularly need to look at previous election results and retrospect what went wrong. Entire campaigns can be based on remedying past mistakes. That is how instead of discarding a venture because of historical failure, the required alterations can be made to ensure its success.

We are lucky to have relatively well documented past and making full use of it for the future is, in my opinion, the responsibility of every leader. Learning from our own mistakes is a good, but learning from those of others is even better, especially when we have a past brimming with rich experiences.