Those who see their ideas through, regardless of doubts or criticism others may express, are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy.

Achieving something great in any field requires relentless hard work and perseverance, along with a belief in oneself that drives one to success despite the reception it gets from others. Groundbreaking ideas are often put down by people who fail to see the potential they exhibit. Looking at our past tells us that most people who have left a lasting legacy did so in the face of extreme criticism or persecution. Humans are inherently inertiatic and so anyone who tries something new tends to face resistance.

Historically, there have been numerous cases where the people we today admire took flak from the public at the time. Galileo, for instance, was severely condemned for suggesting that the Earth is not the centre of the galaxy. His idea, that the Earth was just one of the many planets revolving around the Sun was not taken kindly by the conservative institutions. He also debunked the myth of the Earth being flat. By seeing through and defending his findings, he ensured that they were noticed by like-minded people in the future and ultimately proven correct.

Similarly, Nikola Tesla even faced violent criticism when he discovered alternating current, and appeared as a competitor against Thomas Edison. Supporters of Edison tried their best to suppress the invention, but the superior nature of the current when compared to the then existing direct current could not help but get noticed widely. This shows that not giving up in an essential quality

On the other hand, any constructive criticism should not be ignored, but rather understood in order to improve upon an idea. An iteration of feedback and improvements is essential to any process. There have also been cases where ideas have failed because of improper execution. As is the case with monarchies very often, the central authority refuses to listen to advice and ends up as a failure.

In summary, it is undoubtedly important to move forward even while others express criticism. But at the same time any positive feedback should be judged carefully and followed if possible. Tireless effort in all circumstances, along with openness to suggestions is paramount to leaving a lasting legacy in any field.