SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's original headquarters. Moreover, Middlesburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

The given argument aims to establish Corporateville as superior to another city, Middlesburg, and provides several reasons for the same. It argues that the shifting of a corporation's headquarters and the surge in the number of homeowners, along with lower taxes make Corporateville a safer place to live and work. At first glance the arguments presented may seem perfectly logical, but a closer analysis reveals that there are several underlying assumptions that are made without significant proof or study.

Firstly, the surge in the number of homeowners is not a sufficient reason in itself for Corporateville to stake claim as a superior place. The increase could be due to a number of unaccounted factors. No analysis is performed to find the reason for such an increase. Higher availability of jobs can draw the public to an area but superiority is based on a variety of aspects such as the standard of living, medical facilities, education and infrastructure. None of these is compared while claiming that the aforementioned city is superior to Middlesburg.

Further, the employee survey casts doubt on the decision-making process of the company. Surveys tend to be biased if not carefully executed with the proper set of questions. It is not revealed what exactly was asked as part of the survey, nor is it mentioned how many of the employees took the survey. If it was exhaustive and had clearly objective questions, the results can be trusted, but otherwise, relying on it for a decision as critical as shifting the location of their headquarters is naïve.

Another point made against Middlesburg is the higher rate of taxes, an argument being used to label it as unsafe and expensive compared to Corporateville. None of the essential features that contribute to a safe city are being elucidated in the argument, so it is far-fetched to say that one city is safer than another without considering the statistics. SuperCorp shifted its headquarters not because they think the city is safer, but because of a host of other possible reasons, including the employee survey. It is not necessarily a cheaper place either. Lower taxes do contribute towards making it cheaper, but a higher cost of living could more than make up for it. Higher demand could force housing prices to rise, which in turn would make the city more expensive.

In summary, the arguments made in favour of Corporateville and the shifting of SuperCorp's headquarters are half baked at best. A proper study should have been conducted with respect to the factors that determine the suitability of a city. Many of the claims have not been backed up with any logical findings or statistics, making them look overly optimistic and poorly thought out.