"Americans spend far too much of their time buying and consuming non-essential goods. Studies show that, on average Americans spend over a quarter of their leisure time shopping. As such, it is no secret why America is losing its competitive edge relative to other countries. Instead of spending their time productively, Americans are wasting time through frivolous consumption. In order to counteract this trend, Americans should spend more time focused on personal and communal development--by, for example, pursuing educational advancement or participating in volunteer opportunities."

The author of the argument argues that americans spend too much time of buying and consuming non-essential goods . Furthermore, the author adds that due to spending time in leisure activities, america is losing edge on other countries. He further states that americans should spend more time in productive activities such as personal development , communal development , educational development . Though the underlying argument has certain merits but due to some weak assumptions and vague language, the argument remains unsubstantiated and deeply flawed. some of the flaws are as follows.

First, the author has developed a causal relationship with the time spend by the americans to america's losing competitive edge on other countries but the author has not given any proof to prove his statement. For example, if there is recession in america and that is the main reason behind america losing it competitive edge on other countries then the author has certainly stated a wrong relation.

Second, the author to counter the problem available at site states that the americans should focus on personal development , communal development , educational development has failed to show how would these factors contribute to lift america up in the competition with other countries. For example, if the main reason as stated above is recession, these developments will surely do no good to the current status of america. So the author if could have provided some background to his argument as in some survey or data about the downfall in the competition of countries, it would have certainly helped to understand the exact reason.

Third, the author states a study showing that on average americans spend over a quarter of the time shopping has wrongly assumed that all americans spend quarter time shopping. For instance if, Out of total population majority of time shopping spent is by young girls then the people who are majorly responsible for america's growth are working regularly to develop their skill sets and spending less time of shopping. This could be a case as the study shows that on average americans spend quarter of their leisure time shopping.

Although as given the argument certainly has many flaws. if the author were to add some statistics and background to the argument it would have certainly improved the argument. if the author were to add some proofs related to the causal statements stated in the argument, it would make the argument implausible and the improve the reasoning.

In the conclusion, the author states a interesting but flawed argument, if the author would have added the above data as shown it would have surely strengthen his argument . As it stands, the argument is too weak and the reasoning is not up to the mark. Hence, I remain unconvinced.