Arctic deer live on islands in Canada s arctic regions They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough at le

The given passage asserts that the Arctic deer, a natural habitat of Canadas' arctic region depends on food in warmer region and migrates to the nearby island during the colder part of the year. Recently, there has been a decent decrease in the deer's population which is alleged to be the effect of green house on the topography of the island. The author failed to produce substantial evidences for the declination of deer's population which can further be investigated to derive upon certain facts and data required to conclude.

Firstly, the author failed to delineate the initial population of the Arctic deer in the island where it is supposed to be surveyed. How can a plummet in the population be calculated without a proper input? The variation in data can easily mislead the surveys' conclusion. Moreover, the author did not mention about which part of the year the survey was conducted. In case, it happened to be on colder part of the year, obviously the deers could have already migrated to the nearby islands. If these facts are proved to true, then the author's claim on the deer's population does not hold water.

Further, the author mentioned about the data been given by the local hunters. Hunters are those who depend upon killing animals for their livelihood. Ironically, a hunter exhibiting the data about the population of an animal habitat to the particular area is aberrant. How about the local hunters practiced poaching and killing animals for their benefit ? Apparently, this must be the conclusion if the hunters are scrutinized for further information regarding their routine activities. Thus the authors' vague information and blaming the green house effect for the steep fall in the deer's population cannot be substantiated.

Despite the fact that the poachers and miscalculation, I agree to the effect of green house gases on the environment. However, a solid proof is required for testing the intensity of the gases in the island. Anyways, an island is always abandoned or desolated unless it is a place for tourist attraction. Possibly, there must not be a disturbance in the ecological balance in a sequestrated island. Therefore, the authors' argument about the greenhouse effect seems to unnerve the claim.

To conclude, solid data and proofs are required to obviate mother nature being the reason for the decrease in the deer's population. From the factors provided in the above passage, it is conspicuous that humans must be the reason behind the deer's population being at the brink of extinction.