Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument purportedly states that the population of arctic deer's have been diminished significantly because they are not able to continue their migration over frozen sea due to the fact that global warming and other negative effects have influenced ice sheets. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which more well-established evidence should be given.

First, the author contends that because of the fluctuation in temperature in arctic region, deer's' habitat are restricted to the places, which create some problem for them such as scarce resource food and travel over sea through ice cover. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since there is no sufficient evidence to support if they run into those problems during whole years. One point that should be considered is that there is no evidence to show that in what extent arctic region experience fluctuation. Indeed, there is possibility that warm and cold temperature effects deer's' habitat only in specific time of year. It is also important to say that there is no information about vegetation and kinds of plants that deer's feed on.

The author also attributes that based on local hunters' information and records the population of deer's are reducing. Although it might seem tenable at face, it has some detects, due to the paucity of evidence to show that if decline in deer's' population reported by hunters is accurate and this reduction occur in all part of the arctic. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that maybe hunters looking for deer's in specific part of the island, which perhaps the number of deer's is limited in that region. Alongside that, hunters report could not be reliable and perhaps they did not tell the truth due to the fact that they provide an opportunity to hunt as much as they want.

Finally, as set forth by the author alongside with the reports by hunters, recent global warming has changed the trend of ice melt. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premises could be challenge owing to inadequate evidence to support if global warming is the main issue of melting ice in arctic region. One point that cannot go unnoticed is that there is no valid evidence in the author's statement to show that global warming is the only factor that cause ice to melt. As a matter of fact, as scientists suggested, there are different factors that could interfere with ice to melt such as human activities. Moreover, maybe global warming has influenced on ice in a short period of time. In fact, we do not know that to the extent global warming affects ice to melt.

Having scrutinized the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there is some evidence, having been ignored by the author, while the presence of which could add to the logic of each premise.