Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this article is discussed the decline of deer population in search for food in the northern Canada regions. The author suggests that the overwarming of the planet is responsible for the ice melting and thus for the decrease of the deer’s population. Undeniably, this issue is very important and we need to find more evidence in order to find the reasons of this decline whether it is weather related or not.

The author is making a cause and effect error in his article stating that reports from local hunters and the ice melt due to global warming are responsible for the decline in the deer population. This may be true but we are not sure that these are the only reasons for this decline. For example, heavy snowfall and extreme cold may have destroyed the plants and grass or the deer may have trapped themselves to heavy snow and starved to death. This opinion is supported by the facts mentioned above but more evidence is needed to support whether these facts are solely responsible for the decline in the deer population.

Another error the author is making is that he uses reports with probably tainted data. These reports come from local hunters, people that hunt and kill animals. These reports could clearly be biased towards that the weather and climate change is solely responsible for the decrease in the deer population. The hunters in their reports could easily not state the fact that they themselves hunt those deer and therefore are responsible for the decrease in the population as well. Thus, a more accurate report is needed perhaps from a global institution specialized in the deer welfare. This report, will probably show the same as the hunters reports but the reasons for the decline may be different.

There is also a weak analogy that can be extracted from the passage. The author first states about arctic deer living in the Northern Canada regions and their movement from island to island in search for food; But then, at his conclusion he mentions about the deer’s’ being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns. He assumes that the deer of Canada have the same patterns with all the other deer in all the other regions of the world. There is no evidence that this globalization the author is making exists. For example the deer in Canada where there is a lot of ice have the same food patterns as the deer in the Russian taigas? More evidence is needed in order to support this globalization the author is making.

To conclude, in his article the author in order to support his opinion made some fallacies. He used reports that could easily have false data, he stated that the ice melt is solely responsible for the deer decline thus making an ad-hoc error. We need to have more evidence and search for more facts to support this opinion and find a plausible solution due to the fact that these deer will be extinct if this situation continues for some more decades.