Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given article has claimed that due to the increase in recent global warming the Arctic deer population in Canada's arctic region has decreased. The author's argument is based on the fact that the local hunters have reported a decrease in Arctic deer's population combined with the recent increase in global warming. However, in order to better evaluate the author's argument following evidence is needed.

First of all, the evidence regarding the accuracy of the information provided by local hunters needs to be supplied. It is possible that the local hunters are providing lowering the actual numbers of the Arctic Deers for their selfish gains. Further, the local hunters may be extremely inexperienced and incompetent to actually determine the number of Artic deers in the area. If any of this is true it would significantly weaken the author's argument.

Secondly, the author needs to provide the effect of global warming on the sea ice of the regions in which these Arctic Deers live. The author has simply said that increase in global warming has "caused the sea ice to melt", it may be possible that the sea ice in Canada's Arctic region is relatively unaffected by the recent trends of global warming. Further, even if the increase in global warming has melted the ice in Canada's arctic region, it may be possible that the sea ice connecting different islands is still present for some part of the year enabling the migration of arctic deers. If this is indeed the case, the author's argument won't hold true.

Lastly, the author needs to show that all the rest of the conditions (apart from sea ice connecting the islands) required for Arctic Deer's survival are still the same as before. It is possible that the Arctic Deer's population is not decreasing because of the melting of the ice cap, instead it is decreasing due to the lack of food. If the amount of plants available for Arctic Deer's decreases, due to an increase in the population of other plant eating animals, it would cause their population to decrease. If the above-stated is true it would be a huge hit for the author's argument.

In conclusion, the author's argument, as it stands now, is extremely flawed as it is based on various unwarranted assumptions. The author needs to provide some or all of the above mentioned evidence in order to better evaluate the effect of increase in global warming in Arctic Deer's population and make his/her argument more robust.